If I were a bird

If I were a bird

If I were a bird

oh! What a life it would be

From heights above the world to see!

I’d fly in the air with a wing or two;

Oh! I would then just have a flight to do.

I’d fly over vast ocean spreads

And wonder where the other end leads;

Above the green lands and near the blue sky;

It would be immense joy to fly and fly.

O’er lush meadows and near the pearled cloud;

I’d fly chirping happily aloud;

To see earth’s beauty in a magnificence unfold;

Roving over the wild-waves flowing confident and bold.

I’d flutter my wings on adventurous flights

And glitter my eyes, gathering wondrous sights.

And in my heart solemnly bear testimony

To the creation of universal harmony.

I’d make my home in the mountainous plains

And feel cozy and warm in the hilly terrains.

Beginning from terra-firma toward the valleys to culminate

And not let winning zeal of an upward flight terminate.

I’d cling to the sea-cliff and hear the clarion-call;

Of the clippers that swim the coast at night-fall.

And decamp in wild jungles to watch the break of dawn

My eyes open as thanksgiving : a bird that I was born!

3 thoughts on “If I were a bird

  1. The form recalls poets from the US. “Enlightenment” period. You did a fabulous job reaching for lofty language that soars with your spirit. It is very hard to breathe new life into old forms like this, but you succeeded.

    An example:

    And in my heart solemnly bear testimony
    To the creation of universal harmony.

    This couplet reminds the reader that this is a serious poem about life and hope, not just about a flight of fancy along with a bird.

Leave a Reply

